July 15, 2024

Foghat have released their 17th studio album, “Sonic Mojo” — their first in seven years.

One music writer claimed Foghat “isn’t afraid of trying something new.”  What they should have written is Foghat isn’t afraid to rehash the past.

While there is no reworking of “Slow Ride,” the band leans on three songs co-written by Savoy Brown’s late Kim Simmonds (who passed away last year) 

One of the songs he co-wrote was the album’s first single, “Drivin’ On” which sounds like early ZZ Top.

There are also songs composed by the long-gone Willie Dixon, Chester Burnett (Howlin’ Wolf), B.B. King and Chuck Berry.  Just to balance things out there’s a cover of “Song For Life,” written by Country’s Rodney Crowell.

“Sonic Mojo” Track Listing:

01. She’s A Little Bit Of Everything 
02. I Don’t Appreciate You 
03. Mean Woman Blues 
04. Drivin’ On 
05. Let Me Love You Baby (Willie Dixon))
06. How Many More Years ((Chester Burnett))
07. Song For Life 
08. Wish I’d A Been There 
09. Time Slips Away 
10. Black Days & Blue Nights 
11. She’s Dynamite (B. King Riley — B.B. King)
12. Promised Land (Chuck Berry)

At this point, drummer Roger Earl is the only original member.  Scott Holt (lead vocals/rhythm guitar), Bryan Bassett (lead guitar), Rodney O’Quinn (bass) complete the line-up.

Leave a Reply