April 23, 2024

Any band that starts out covering Blink 182 and takes their name from the lyrics in a New Found Glory song (“Head On Collision”) is pretty heavily steeped in Pop Punk.

All Time Low started in ’03, while band members were still in high school. They hadn’t even graduated when their debut EP, ’04’s “The Three Words To Remember In Dealing With The End,” dropped.

Following their full-length debut, “The Party Scene,” released in ’05, All Time Low issued another EP, “Put Up Or Shut Up” which was essentially re-recorded songs from “The Party Scene,” plus new material.

’07 sophomore set, “So Wrong, It’s Right,” only reached #62 on the Billboard 200 but it did make it to #6 on the Indie Album chart.

Interestingly, the second single, “Dear Maria, Count Me In,” a song about a local stripper, went gold without getting radio airplay.

Alternative Press magazine named All Time Low the “Band of the Year 2008.” They graced the cover of the magazine’s January ’09 issue.

“Nothing Personal,” with the single “Weightless,” arrived in ’09 making its debut at #4 on the Billboard 200 survey selling 63,000 copies in its first week out. That success got Interscope’s attention.

The group’s full-length Interscope studio debut, “Dirty Work” led with the lead single, “I Feel Like Dancin’.” The album became All Time Low’s best international seller to date going to #13 in Australia and #20 in Canada.

A year later, All Time Low jumped from Interscope to Hopeless Records where they issued “Don’t Panic.”  

However, life in the Interscope world proved less than desired. The album was delayed a number of times because the people at the label that had signed the band were fired or replaced. All Time Low lacked internal champions pushing the project forward.

Next up was “Don’t Panic: It’s Longer Now!” In addition to the songs on “Don’t Panic” there were four new tracks and four acoustic remixes. The lead single, “A Love Like War” featured Vic Fuentes of Pierce The Veil. The Fuentes connection continued as All Time Low hit the road opening for Pierce The Veil.

Produced by John Feldmann, “Future Hearts,” a ’15 release, contained the singles “Something’s Gotta Give” and “Kids In The Dark,” plus a guest appearance by Blink-182’s Mark Hoppus on the track “Tidal Waves.”

All Time Low’s sixth album debuted at #2 on the Billboard 200 selling 75,000 copies in its first week, becoming the band’s highest charting effort. It was also their first album to top the U.K. chart.

The band then issued ’17’s “Last Young Renegade.” They promoted its release with in-store signings and acoustic performances.  The album received generally positive reviews.

The album debuted at #9 on the Billboard 200, selling 33,000 units in its first week. That was enough to top the Alternative Albums chart.

“Wake Up, Sunshine,” dropped three years later.  By recording at Dawson’s home studio in Palm Springs, CA, the band had the luxury of working at their own tempo without having to worry about renting a professional studio. 

Some Kind Of Disaster” was the lead single from the band’s eighth album. The second and third singles from the set were “Sleeping In” and “Getaway Green,” respectively.

Unfortunately, the album’s release coincided with the COVID-19 pandemic, preventing the band from touring but not from writing songs.

Some of those songs landed on the group’s ninth studio album, Tell Me I’m Alive.” The set’s themes were drawn from emotions and experiences witnessed during the pandemic.

Leave a Reply