Join Rockin'Town
Rockin'Town Artist Bio


Sometimes a band has to relocate to catch a break and sometimes they don't. The Nothing, with guitarist/vocalist Ed Sloan, bassist/vocalist Mitch James and drummer Brian Geiger started in Columbia, South Carolina. After working up some original material they moved to Atlanta. But the trip failed to yield much so they went back to Columbia where Sloan built a home studio and Geiger served as the group's manager.

The home studio turned out to be a beneficial tool. Not only could they develop their sound, they could learn recording techniques that would prove useful later on.

The next step was the addition of DJ/vocalist Tony Byroads, who left Buffalo after graduating from high school.

Becoming Sugardaddy Superstar (not an inspired choice) their music came to the attention of veteran L.A. promoter Chris Long who eventually took over management duties from Greiger.

In late '02, the group, now called Crossfade (thankfully), released their debut, "Cold," regionally. The effort led to a major label deal and the release of "Crossfade" with eight songs from their self-released set. The album was soon certified platinum (more than a million sales). "Our fans include all these young girls who think Ed's hot and their dads who like our music," claimed James.

Crossfade's sophomore effort, "Falling Away," dropped in August of '06.

Crossfade Discography

With rough hewn vocals and tight, forceful guitars, Crossfade blends Nu Metal and Grunge on their self-titled debut. Their mega-hit "Cold" is the best thing on the set but the the rest of the album has its moments too. The heavy "Death Trend Setta" and "The Deep End" are potent. "Disco" features a killer riff as Sloan belts out "you torched your house with your own hand," which is typical of the lyrical content.

"Falling Away" is a successful follow-up to the group's debut. Their combination of angst/pained song hooks is undeniable. Lyrically, the group moves from "feeling stupid but strong" on "Already Gone" to bitter and hostile on "Breath Slowly." In between, they toss in the melodic ballad, with a self-explanatory title, "Everything's Wrong. "Invincible" immediately jumps out as does "Anchor," with Sloan's roaring vocals.

The set opens with the rhythmic "Washing The World Away" which contains a catchy "hey yeah" chant. The title track uses nearly unintelligible vocal processing which distracts from an otherwise good song but the muscular "Why" and "Drown You Out" put the album over.

Rate This Bio | Join Rockin'Town | Related Artists | Rockin'Forum