Join Rockin'Town
Rockin'Town Artist Bio

Black Star Riders

After working under the Thin Lizzy banner for decades, band members announced in '12 that they were retiring the name to become Black Star Riders.

The Black Star Riders line-up consisted of Ricky Warwick (vocals), Scott Gorham (guitar), Damon Johnson (guitar), Marco Mendoza (bass) and Jimmy Degrasso (drums).

Gorham joined Thin Lizzy in '74 and was a contributor during the "Boys Are Back In Town"/"Jailbreak" era. Mendoza came onboard in the '90s while Warwick and Johnson were recent ('10) Thin Lizzy arrivals.

Since only one band member had a direct link to Thin Lizzy's glory days, it made sense to become a new entity.

Black Star Riders' debut album "All Hell Breaks Loose" was released in '13. "The past few years have been such a wild ride. It sounded like a bad-ass album title that summed up what Black Star Riders is all about," stated Warwick.

The group released their sophomore album, "The Killer Instinct," in February, '15.

Next, Black Star Riders announced the addition of drummer Chad Szeliga, who formerly was with Breaking Benjamin and Black Label Society. He first came to the band's attention five years earlier when Thin Lizzy and Black Label Society toured North America in support of Judas Priest.
Black Star Riders Discography


2013 All Hell Breaks Loose
2015 The Killer Instinct

Also see Thin Lizzy.

Rate This Bio | Join Rockin'Town | Related Artists | Rockin'Forum