Join Rockin'Town
Rockin'Town Artist Bio

Beach House

The duo Beach House had an interesting rise, fall and rise on Pitchfork Media's annual best album lists.

French-born Victoria Legrand and Baltimore native Alex Scally began working together in Charm City (Baltimore) in '04. Two years later, their dream pop self-titled debut landed at #16 on Pitchfork's Best Albums of '06. However, sophomore set "Devotion," while still finding a place on the Top 50, was slotted at a lowly #46 on the '08 list. But "Teen Dream" recovered nicely holding the #5 position in '10.

"Despite the lesser Pitchfork ranking, "Devotion," with the single "Used To Be" increased the duo's profile.

In '09, Legrand provided the vocals to "Slow Life," Grizzly Bear's contribution to the "Twilight: New Moon" soundtrack.

Beach House's third album "Teen Dream," produced by Chris Coady (Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs), was released by Sub-Pop, their first for the label. The low-key, melodic set included an updated version of "Used To Be."

The group's fourth album, "Bloom," was released in '12.

The success of "Teen Dream" and "Bloom" led to playing bigger venues supported by their touring band: Matt Heafy (guitar), Skyler Skjelset (bass), Daniel Franz (drums/percussion) and Graham Hill (drums/percussion).

Beach House released the short film Forever Still in '13 which featured performances of songs from "Bloom." The film was a product of the band's desire to make quality promotional content they could control artistically. Previous results had fallen far below their artistic standards.

Seen as a return to earlier simplicity, Beach House issued their fifth studio effort, "Depression Cherry," in '15. The band had this to say about the album: "Here, we continue to let ourselves evolve while fully ignoring the commercial context in which we exist."

On the heels (two months) of "Depression Cherry," Beach House presented "Thank Your Lucky Stars." Recorded concurrently with "Depression Cherry," the set had a "slightly darker edge."

The compilation "B-Sides And Rarities" ('17) was viewed as a "cleaning out the closet" to begin a new creative process.

With that in mind, Beach House left longtime producer Chris Coady in favor of Peter Kember (aka Sonic Boom) to achieve a "rebirth and rejuvenation."

Recording their seventh album, aptly titled "7," took eleven months in part because they shed some self-imposed limitations like only writing to parts that could be performed live.

"There are songs with layers and production that we could never recreate live, and that is exciting to us," the duo said in a statement. Apparently, Kember was not exactly a producer but a facilitator who let "ideas drive the creativity."

"Basically, we let our creative moods, instead of instrumentation, dictate the album's feel," the statement continued. That was evident on the singles "Lemon Glow," "Dive," "Dark Spring," and "Black Car."

Beach House Discography


2006 Beach House
2008 Devotion
2010 Teen Dream
2012 Bloom
2015 Depression Cherry
2015 Thank Your Lucky Stars
2018 7

Rate This Bio | Join Rockin'Town | Related Artists | Rockin'Forum